New answers tagged

0

A simple (but not secure) solution: Each user must change the access rights to their personal Public folder (~/Public) to 777. In Files open the Properties dialog and choose the permissions tab. Click on the "Write" buttons for "group" and "everyone". Once this is done you can create a link to another user's Public folder in your own home directory (or ...


0

I am afraid this is not possible at the moment. The icon displayed for files is determined by either their mime-type or, for executables, by any associated .desktop-file. The only exception is where the folder path matches one of the GUserDirectory enumeration - i.e. Home, Documents, Music, Video etc. This is hardcoded. In principle additional "special ...


0

Thanks for being willing to try something new for and trying eOS! I do recommend you persevere with learning the new shortcuts where they differ from your old OS (although I understand that when you are using both OS's it may be a little confusing at first). They will quickly become second nature. If there is a function for which eOS does not currently ...


1

The 'philosophy' of keyboard shortcuts of the elementary OS is quite different than the other OS, including Mac OS and Windows. You can change safely some of them using System Settings app > Keyboars > Shortcuts, also you can do this by using dconf editor, but if you are not experienced as it looks using dconf can cause you much more troubles than any ...


1

If you want one folder for all users, yes it is possible. Before you start, please empty both the Public folders in order to prevent data loss. I will use into the command lines below user1 and user2 but you have to replace these strings with the actual usernames you want to manipulate. The Public folder's icon of the Public folder of user2 will be changed, ...


1

Open Files and in the address bar try accessing ~/.local/share/Trash/files/ to see the contents of the Trash Folder. If this works, and you are able to see the contents, you can choose some files to undelete by selecting them, Ctrl+X to cut them, and them Ctrl+V in some other folder (by design, right clicking in the Trash folder displays a menu containing ...


1

This can only changed in the source code I am afraid. I assume the default action as changed in order to comply with the elementary HIG which states: . Destructive actions should not be focused by default to prevent accidental activation.


0

You need to raise an issue at https://github.com/elementary/files/issues (after checking for duplicates). You should specify what form you want the auto-renaming to take, e.g. adding "-(copy)" to the filename, rather than referencing another OS.


Top 50 recent answers are included